n103089316417_9331Last week my wife Rachel and I were in Houston, Texas attending Israel Houghton’s Deeper Level Conference.    We were asked to come so that Rachel could accept a Legacy Award for her dad, Keith Green.  This was really an exciting thing for us as Rachel has never done anything like this by herself before.  Usually her mom is with her and doing the speaking.  We were very excited, but not sure what to expect. We weren’t sure what the conference would be like or what to expect, but I am happy to say that is exceeded our every expectation.  There obviously was awesome worship, but even that was more powerful than I was prepared for.  The Presence of the Lord was so strong.  It was so nice to just be able to sing and Worship.  Being a Worship Pastor there is usually so much preparation before a time of singing Worship.  It was really awesome to not be involved in all of the details but just enjoy His love and presence.
Israel Houghton is passionate about followers of Christ getting involved in the area of Social Justice.  This is a theme that was spoken about a lot during the conference.  I started to think about Rachel’s dad and all of the things he was passionate about.  He was all about putting your faith in action.  He knew the Bible said to take care of the poor and that is what he did.  He spoke out frequently about Christians getting out of the pews and getting their feet wet simply doing the things that the Bible commanded that we do.  He didn’t just write about not compromising, but he lived his life that way!  He still challenges me today in my ministry and in my walk with the Lord.
As I thought about the conference and I thought about Rachel’s dad, I started putting two and two together.  I thought it was so fitting that they would want to honor Rachel’s dad at a conference where social justice was a main theme, when that was so much of what he himself was passionate about!
Rachel and I were so blessed to be a part of the Deeper Level conference.  Everyone involved made us feel so welcome.  I couldn’t believe their wonderful hospitality.  They are the real deal and I am so happy to have crossed paths with them.
I have posted some pictures below.  I hope you enjoy them.  Please feel free to post any comments!

To God be the Glory!

Rachel Israel, Rachel and BobbyRachel and Bobby

Photos © ColemanArt 2009
www.colemanartphotography.com

Comments
  1. Jenny says:

    It is so amazing that I could find you guys’ blog. I had just spent a morning and afternoon listening to Keith Green’s songs. I hope to see more of your picturs.
    In Christ,
    Jenny

  2. […] We ended our set with a chorus I learned at the Deeper Level conference this past September.  The song is called “Hosanna” by Sidney Mohede.  It is so Awesome!  This is the first time I have used it and I really love it.  I think it went over very well.  You can search it on YouTube and get an idea of how it goes.  Really powerful!  Click here to check out my post on the Deeper Level Conference and hear more about our time there. […]

Leave a Reply

