National Worship Leader Conference

Posted: July 20, 2010 in Uncategorized
Tags: , , , , , ,

This week I am attending an incredible conference in Kansas City.  It is the 2010 National Worship Leader Conference.  Worship leaders from all over the country travel to Kansas City to participate in this week long event.  I feel very privileged to have this opportunity right here in my home town.  Yesterday was the opening day and I have already been so challenged and so blessed.  I can’t imagine what is going to be in store for me through the rest of the week.

In last nights opening event, Steve Berger was the main speaker.  He spoke out of Psalm 40, how to sing a new song when we are in the pit. For those who have never read this Psalm before, or if you have never listened to U2, here is the passage:

1 I waited patiently for the Lord; he inclined to me and heard my cry.2 He drew me up from the pit of destruction, out of the miry bog, and set my feet upon a rock, making my steps secure.3 He put a new song in my mouth, a song of praise to our God. Many will see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord.

At some point we will all be in the pit.  We all go through season of trial, season of torment, seasons where we may even question is God cares about us.  The question is not if we end up in the pit, but when.  Psalm 40 teaches us that when we are in the darkest season of our life, we can still set our feet on the Rock and trust that the Lord is sovereign!  When he makes our steps secure, we have no choice but to sing a new song.  So what is that “new song”?  Berger says it is a “new experience with an ancient truth”.  If that hasn’t hit you yet, just think through it a while longer.  He has put a new song in YOUR heart as well.  Let us not be silent, but lets let “many see and fear, and put their trust in the Lord”!

Comments

Leave a Reply

