I have been finding myself thinking about John chapter 4 quite a lot lately.  This is a passage where Jesus meets a Samaritan woman at a well.  At the end of this story Jesus says to her:

But the hour is coming, and is now here, when the true worshipers will worship the Father in spirit and truth, for the Father is seeking such people to worship him.24 God is spirit, and those who worship him must worship in spirit and truth.

I have been spending a lot of time studying and praying about true worshipers, and what it means to worship in Spirit and in Truth.  Yesterday at the National Worship Leader Conference Marcos Witt spoke on this very subject.  I was so blessed to hear what the Lord was speaking to him about this topic.  I really want to hear from you too!  What are “True Worshipers” and what does it mean to “Worship in spirit and in truth”.  Please leave your comments.  Let’s discuss and learn together.

Comments
  1. Liivie says:

    I have loved this scripture too for a long time. I love it because I first realized that God truly made a way for us to connect to Him. He gave us a spirit with which we could love Him and know Him and that is possible because He is spirit. It is the connection of spirits that allows us to trully worship Him. “It is the Spirit who gives life, the flesh profits nothing.”
    I belive the truth part is the “where we are (in our spirits) at the time” worship. The worship that comes out of pain, so real, so painful. The worship that comes out of joy that we will combust if we don’t worship His goodness. The worship that comes from frustration when we turn to Him and say, “here, I love you and this is awful, but you are God and I worship You”. Literally, the all the time where I am now worship that carries us truthfully to God, the good the bad and the ugly but YOU STILL REIGN worship. The “Lord, to whom shall we go?, You have the words of eternal life” worship…We are given an opportunity to worship Him with our whole spirit being just as we are…

  2. Lisa says:

    I believe we need the Holy Spirit’s help to truly worship. I think of Romans 12:1 and giving my body as a “living sacrifice,” or “praying without ceasing,” or “always giving thanks…for everything.” These are all acts of worship of which I am incapable – unless I have help from the Holy Spirit – at least, if I hope to worship with any sort of truth. I could go through the motions, I could say the words, I could probably fool some people into thinking I was a great worshiper, but it wouldn’t be true. So, I think, in order to “truly” worship (“worship in truth”) I must be worshiping with the assistance of the Spirit; He must be actively leading my spirit into God’s presence.
    I looked up John 4:24 in a couple of different versions, and the Living Bible said something similar to what I have been trying to express. The order of verses and words is different than other versions, but it is very readable and easy to understand. If you will allow me to quote, beginning in verse 21: “Jesus replied, ‘The time is coming, ma’am, when we will no longer be concerned about whether to worship the Father here or in Jerusalem. For it’s not WHERE we worship that counts, but HOW we worship – is our worship spiritual and real? Do we have the Holy Spirit’s help? For God is Spirit, and we must have his help to worship as we should. The Father wants this kind of worship from us.'”
    With help from his Spirit, to our spirits, and back again, so that we may connect with him in honesty and true love for Him – love which can only come from Him to begin with. That’s my two cents worth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

