A Healthy Habit.

Posted: December 30, 2010 in Church
Tags: , , ,

As the end of 2010 is drawing near it is time to look toward the new year and think about what we resolve to do differently in the coming year.  One part of my life that I always like to re-evaluate is my time in the Word.  For several years now I have done reading plans that take me through the entire Bible in one years time.  I have always found this to be a very practical way to keep my accountable to being in the Word.

Over the years I have struggled with this.  Sometimes I would miss a day and feel like I had failed, like I wasn’t holding up my end of the bargain.  I often wondered what God thought about that, if He was disappointed in me.  It took me a lot longer than I would like to admit to realize that that condemnation was not from the Lord but from a religiousness that I had created myself.  God doesn’t need me to be in the Word because of some religious obligation.  However, He does want me to be in the Word because I want to deepen my walk with Him, because I love Him.

Often it seems that when we get a hold of this truth, the pendulum swings to far to the other side.  We don’t read our Bibles on a regular basis with the excuse that we are not bound to religion.  This helps us to feel justified in our stagnate walk with the Lord.

I want to submit to you that it is not religious, but a healthy habit to be reading the Bible on a consistent basis.  The key is to not let the enemy condemn you when you miss, but know that condemnation does not come from the Lord.  Get back up and try again the next day.  It is so important to be hiding the Word of God in our hearts, but we can not do that unless we are getting in and reading it.  If you are feeling dry in your walk with the Lord, my first question would be when was the last time you spent some quality time with the Lord and in His Word.  There is no greater cure for a boring walk with the Lord than reading the Words that have already been spoken by Him.

There is a great tool at www.youversion.com to help you find a reading plan that works for you.  They have everything from year long plans to 30 day plans.  It also helps you keep track of your progress and is a way to help you stay accountable.  I want to encourage you to try something new this year in your time with the Lord.  Lets all work to be consistent together this year.  Not out of religion, but out of a passion for knowing Jesus more.

What do you plan on doing different this year?

Comments
  1. Scotty Mac says:

    Totally man, thanks for this post! There are so many great tools and plans out there to help us stay in the Word. This is the plan my wife and I are using this year!
    http://journeyon.net/sites/default/files/attachements/blog/BibleReadingPlan.pdf

Leave a Reply

